Follow Us


Most Viewed Posts

types of driving licence

Different Types of Driving Licence in India


At a certain age, we become concerned about our driving license. This is not only important for driving on the road but it’s an identity proof which all of us should possess. In India, after 18, you need to acquire a citizenship identity card. Be it an Aadhar card, voter card, Pan Card, or Driving license, you need to keep at least one or everything. It is inevitable to have these identity cards. Whether you are looking for a driving license, you might come across some terms like LMV full form or HMV. No worry, we will guide you with this article.

It is an official document which you need when you are riding on the road. Otherwise, you can be penalized. So, it would be better to know about it. But the confusing matter is what you need. There are different types of driving licences in India. This is where reading about it comes into play. Gaining information about the driving license can remove all your confusion. This article is just for you who are going to get a driving license for the first time. Be it for commercial purposes or personal matters, you need a license to drive on the road. Let’s start with the reason for having a driving license.

Importance of Having a Driving Licence

A driving license is required to drive on the road. Whatever vehicle you use, it is inevitable to possess a driving license. It’s an official document issued by the government to allow you to drive on the road. It is proof that you know how to drive and are allowed to drive on the road. Holding a driving license also proves that you are obliged to follow the traffic rules and regulations.

Read Also  How to Find Vehicle Owner Details by Registration Number?

Drivers are legally obliged to carry a driving license under the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988. Without a driving license, you can face many issues on the road. If you’re not having a driving license, you can be in a trouble zone. It includes monetary compensation or prison term. If a driver doesn’t possess a license, she/he is liable to pay a fine. It is always advisable that mature adults above 18 who drive on the road must possess a driving license. Otherwise, the consequences could be dangerous.

Different Types of Driving Licence in India

Moving forward to the main purpose of the article, we will now see the different types of driving licenses in India. There are mainly 4 types of licenses in India.

  1. Learner’s Licence 

As you can see this is only for the learners. Before you get your permanent license, you are given this license. It validates for only 6 months. During this time, you should master the driving skill. You can apply for the permanent license after 30 days of issuance of the learner’s license. This is an essential demand from the RTO. During the possession of a learner’s license, you should master the skill of driving, road signals, and traffic rules as well.

  1. Permanent Licence

After you gain skill as a driver, you are required to go on the road. So, you need a permanent driving license now. You get the permanent license after 6 months of the expiration of the learner’s license. To acquire this license, one must be 18 or above years of age. As it is mentioned above, you can apply for the permanent license after 30 days of issuance of the learner‘s license. Having a permanent driving license means the driver is adept to drive on the road. To acquire a license, one needs to go through certain requirement processes. He needs to pass the driving test as well as having a learner’s license. He needs to be 18 or above. This license comes as a smartcard encrypted with the driver’s biometric information. There are names, ages, and addresses on the card. Even the type of vehicle the individual is authorized to drive is imprinted on the card. This is the main card you need to possess while you are driving a private two-wheeler or car.

  1. Commercial Driving Licence

It means the driver drives heavy vehicles. It can be any vehicle used to transport goods, carriage, passengers, etc. The criteria for acquiring this license are very different from the above. The candidate who is applying for the card should clear at least the 8th standard examination. This type of license is given to those who are very responsible for the passengers, goods they are carrying. According to the Union Government, a driver is required specialized training in transporting heavy vehicles from one place to another. Keeping in mind the safety, the specialized knowledge is very significant to possess this license.

  1. International Driving Licence

As the name suggests, the driver drives a vehicle in a foreign land. To transport goods or passengers from one country to another country, one needs to acquire an international driving license. Otherwise, they are not allowed to cross the border. The vehicles could be personal or rented. It is very important to note that this type of license is issued to those who already have a permanent driving license. The validity of this license is only 1 year. After the expiry, one needs to reapply for it.

Read Also  Driving Licence – A Proof to Drive on the Road

Let’s now take a look at the driving license categories and class of vehicles in India.

  1. MC 50cc – Vehicles having 50 ccs or less of engine capacity
  2. LMV-NT – Non-commercial light motor vehicle
  3. FVG – Vehicles without gears
  4. MC EX50 cc – Motorcycles with gears having an engine capacity of 50 ccs or above
  5. MCWG – Motorcycles with or without gear
  6. HGMV – Heavy vehicles for transportation of goods
  7. HPMY – Heavy vehicles with all India permit


I hope you got a clear view of the different types of licenses in India. It is also clear about the LMV full form or HMV. As per your need, you can apply for anyone. Today, it has been easier to apply for a license online. There is no need to rush with the crowd. If the difference between various driving licenses is clear, you can do it on your own having been present for the testing.

    Leave Your Comment

    Your email address will not be published.*